This is a preview of how this page will look when printed.
Print  |  Close Window

New York State Association of Criminal Defense Lawyers - NYSACDL

New York State Association of Criminal Defense Lawyers - NYSACDL
Member Sign in   |   Join / Renew  

Annual Dinner and Awards Ceremony 2013

The New York State Association of Criminal Defense Lawyers Foundation Annual Dinner and Awards Ceremony was held January 24, 2013 at the Prince George Ballroom in Manhattan.  A capacity crowd joined us for cocktails and celebrated our honorees at the dinner.   The evening’s program, messages from the 2012 and 2013 presidents, honoree biographies, and well-wishes are in the  2013 NYSACDL Foundation Dinner Journal.

Visit us on FaceBook to see more photos from the event.

Richard Willstatter introducing Ben Ostrer


2012 President Richard D. Willstatter was honored for his year of service during which NYSACDL pressed for discovery reform, joined as amici in appeals challenging the Queens’ DA’s pre-arraignment interview program, and continued to support criminal defense attorneys throughout the state through CLE training and listserv support.

Benjamin Ostrer was installed as NYSACDL President 2013 and vowed to continue NYSACDL’s history of pressing for advances in the criminal justice system for the benefit of practitioners and the clients we defend.  NYSACDL board members, past presidents, and practitioners from around the state joined to celebrate our accomplishments as we move into a new year.


U.S. Magistrate Judge Martin Goldberg presented the William Brennan Award for Outstanding Jurist to The Honorable Jeffrey G. Berry, Acting Justice of the Supreme Court for Orange County.  Members of the Orange County Bar Association and the law firm of Larkin, Axelrod, Ingrassia & Tetenbaum were among the many attorneys and judges from Orange, Rockland, Dutchess and Bronx counties to attend.


Susan Necheles receives award from Michele Hirshman



Sarah Burns and David McMahon receive Justice Through the Arts Award from Richard Willstatter

Susan Necheles, partner in the law firm Hafetz, Necheles and Rocco, was presented the Hon. Thurgood S. Marshall Award for Outstanding CriminalPractitioner by Michele Hirshman from Paul Weiss. Attorneys from Paul Weiss, Schiff Hardin, and Thompson Hine along with Hafetz, Necheles and Rocco were among those in attendance.




Ken Burns, Sarah Burns and David McMahon received the Justice Through the Arts Award for their provocative documentary The Central Park Five, based on Sarah Burns’ book of the same title.  Sarah graciously signed copies of the book –  The Central Park Five: A Chronicle of a City Wilding (Knopf  2011; read NYSACDL’s Review in Atticus).

  • Need a Lawyer? Find a Lawyer!

    Use the NYSACDL Member Directory to find a Criminal Defense Lawyer in your region!